Friday, February 10, 2012

Norman Hubbard: There's No 'I' in Team

Check the details on a lengthy CV and Sir Alex Ferguson has won 37 trophies in his time at Manchester United. Yet his reign has resulted in far more silverware ending up at Old Trafford. Over the past quarter of a century, United have had the PFA Player of the Year 11 times and the recipient of the football writers' award on a further six occasions. This season may be very different. United's indefatigability could earn Ferguson a 13th league title, if not the title of manager of the year, which ought to be contested by admirable overachievers Alan Pardew, Paul Lambert and Brendan Rodgers. When the recognition of playing excellence comes, it is still more unlikely there will be celebrations at Old Trafford.

No comments: